Bishop’s House, Chowringhee Road, Calcutta, 1849

কলকাতা বিশপের আবাস, ১৫ নং চৌরঙ্গি রোড, কলকাতা, ১৮৪৯
In October 1825, Bishop Heber, the second Bishop of Calcutta, officially took up residence at 5, Russell Street. The original building was constructed by Major Mark Wood in 1763 on twelve bighas, the first construction on the street. Till the consecration of the new Cathedral named after St. Paul, No. 5 was home to five Bishops. In 1849, The Bishop’s House at 51, Chowringhee Road, with its teak-wooden floors, rambling staircase with its polished banisters, stood till recent time. After 1919, Bishop’s Palace was re-christened as Bishop’s House. A gigantic yet fascinating cast-iron bell hangs from its dragon-bracket in front of the entrance. The bell is covered in beautiful and mysterious numerous characters of the Chinese language etched on its surface and belongs to the Manchu Period, built by Tek Cheong Wu in the city of Hongchu. See more
The photograph was taken by Francis Frith in early 1850s

The Bishop’s Palace, Chowringhee Road, Calcutta, c1833

কলকাতা বিশপের অট্টালিকা, ৫ নং রাসেল স্ট্রিট, চৌরঙ্গি, ১৮২৫-১৮৪৯

The mansions featured in Wood’s panoramas of Chowringhee Road are normally unidentifiable. Exceptions include this image of the Bishop’s Palace at No 5 Russell Street. This housed four successive Bishops of Calcutta between 1825 and 1849. The last of these, Bishop Wilson, built a new cathedral on the south-east corner of the Maidan and relocated the palace to a house opposite the cathedral.
This lithograph is taken from plate 19 of William Wood’s ‘Views of Calcutta’